Healthy Eating · Uncategorized

Science Fair & Spaghetti Squash

Hey Y’all

Ahh today has been a day of days. It was great work wise, no surprises or trouble there. It wasn’t even a bad night, it was just busy busy!! It seems even worse because the weather was nasty. It started freezing rain, almost hailing early this morning. It went on all day. It made the outside slippery, crunch, wet and very windy. I found by the time I was on my way home I had to drive a little slower because the wind was blowing me & the car around.

My sister in law is a very dedicated Science teacher. She volunteers her time, effort, travel, and money to putting on a great science fair for the school. She does experiments for all the 4, 5, and 6th graders. She is always put in charge of organizing and being in charge of the science fair. We have a tradition every year of shopping for the experiments. She makes these detailed store divided lists, and we tackle it every year. As tradition dictates we hit 6 stores in just under 3 hours. We both do very well with lists, and planning. As you can imagine its never fun doing it in the rain, but it is what it is. I got early, and she had off from school because of the weather, so at least it didn’t take all night.

I am so thankful I put the extra work for dinner. I had pre-cooked my hamburger yesterday, and cut up tons of veggies for my sauce, so it was fantastic. The hubby threw my spaghetti squash in the oven, so once i got home within 45 minutes I had dinner all ready. As my veggie intake is growing my hubbies desire to eat it gets lower. Now he feels my sauce has “too many veggies” and always gives me a hard time. I usually make spaghetti for me and he makes almost like a sloppy Joe or meat sauce poutine. (Poutine is fries, gravy, and cheese all melted together. Its a thing here in Canada). Tonight he couldn’t be bothered. He took some meat, and cut up peppers and onions i had left, topped fries with cheese and made “nachos”. Somehow he thought that was healthy. I like making my sauce because I have left overs for a day or two for my lunches. Its healthy, tasty, and quick.

I think I’m coming down with a cold. Yah me! I have been having trouble keeping food down in general all day. I have a bad stomach anyway, and it doesn’t take much to upset it. I am always congested after I eat, and apparently my doctor says some people are just “like” that.   I have battled it since I was a teenager. I have learned over the years to make it better. I used to take so many meds but now I don’t anymore. I have found this wonderful over the counter medicine sold here in Canada called Gravol. It tends to make you a little sleepy sometimes, but an alternative is Ginger Gravol. Its natural and no drowsiness so it always works when I’m having a really hard time with my stomach.

Does anyone have any tips or tricks they use for upset stomachs or natural remedies?

Leave a Reply

