Uncategorized

Grocery Games & Grilled Dinner

Hey Y’all,

Welcome to the weekend. This is the first Saturday I’ve had off in weeks!! I really needed time off to rest. All I wanted to do was sleep in today, but alas I could not. I had plans with my sister in law like we do a lot of weeks to do our grocery shopping. I wanted to sleep in til just before I had to be up, but my mind wouldn’t let me.

     So I got up early, cleaned up the living room, and kitchen, finishing off plates from dinner and cleaning out of the kitchen. I don’t know about y’all but I like to clean my fridge before I grocery shop. I find it works two fold. I am making space for the load of veggies that will be coming into the house, and reminds me of what I have/will need. I like to know what I got through for the week. I hate to waste. I find with eating a lot of fresh fruit and veggies you can be wasteful quick if you aren’t paying attention.

   I had some grapes that were getting soft, and I’m not a fan of soft grapes. I found out this simple trick last year to keep from wasting them. You freeze them, and eat them as a frozen snack. It takes a little bit to eat them, and your getting something a little sweet at the same time. I got a good deal of tortilla’s today. Whole wheat ones for less than a dollar. They freeze really well so I can have them later, and not pay $4 a bag. I took my leftover my fresh fruit and froze that as well.  I will use them when I’m making yogurts for the week. I don’t mind it thawing out and gives more flavour to the yogurt. I got another stellar deal on yogurt this week- 77 cents!!

    We loaded up on veggies. I was able to stay on budget with prices being so affordable. I got spinach, kale, campari tomatoes, carrots, onions, mushrooms, lemons, banana’s for a few things. I got a huge bag of steel cut oats from Costco. I don’t know if y’all eat oats. I use all oats, but I find I like steel the best for breakfast. Its the oats just cut on a different blade. They can be a bit tougher depending on how much you like them cooked. I find they stay with me a bit longer as I am quite busy in the mornings, and reheat beautifully in a minute!

     After what felt like all day shopping (which it wasn’t I’m just not feeling 100% and everything seems to take longer) we come home to do it all again, lol. The groceries aren’t going to unpack themselves. Then we have to prep for dinner. Steak, mushrooms & onions, zucchini & onions, beets, steamed spinach, Brussel sprouts, roasted veggies-carrots, butternut squash, & sweet potatoes tossed in olive oil and Ms. Dash and pan roasted in the oven. It was a filling, healthy dinner, but takes time to get it all done.

    Now we are curled up watching a movie and enjoying the covers in this cold house! My husband sets the temperature to 60, and our pellet stove in the living room is set to 70 but with the drafts in the house it doesn’t seem like 70. So I am here with a sweater, slippers, and a blanket.

     I am looking to try some new recipes this week. I am trying to jazz up my salads. I am going to try a taco mixture with corn chips for crunch. We’ll see how it turns out. I am going to make a panda express chicken dish. I’ve made it before with all the work with frying to chicken up and tossing it in the sauce. This time to cut out of the extra fat I am just grilling the chicken and tossing it in the sauce. I love that with this sauce its an orange chicken but in fact does not have anything orange in it!

Any new recipes you guys are trying this week?? Please share away!

Leave a comment