Uncategorized

Epic Snow Storm

Hey Y’all,

Welcome to the day that was….sort of, lol.  If you saw yesterday’s post we had been predicting a HUGE snow storm. Well….it did not disappoint. I was up every two hours keeping an eye on everything. I didn’t want to miss work if it turned out not to be anything. When I got up at 4am it was really picking it up, and super windy! At that point I knew it was going to be a dangerous drive. I called into work, and thought that would be the end of it. I thought I would sleep the whole morning and have a relaxing day off. It was so windy and noisy our house makes all kinds of strange noises. You hear almost like a whistle and horn sounds. You can’t help but be a little freaked out by it. Plus our bedroom is upstairs next to eves of the house,  and it can be quite windy up there. This is just a quick video this evening from our back door-the only window you can see out of. the wind is so strong every window is covered in snow so you can’t even see outside. This was all day and tonight here! Apparently we aren’t even getting the buses back on the road til tomorrow evening.

        Therefore I was up every hour. I guess its good to keep the wood stove going. When I finally got up today I was all set for a day of work. I think I did more work today then I would have done on the weekend. We lost power for about a half hour and I wanted to get as much as i could before it went out again. Fingers crosses it holds out. When i get a free day off from work it’s quite rare. I don’t know about y’all but unless I take the day I don’t get just random days off. As much as I wanted to do nothing more than curl up on the couch and do nothing, my mindset has changed. I don’t want to do nothing all day. I made good use of my time. I did some meal prep. I made a slow cooker honey sesame chicken in the slow cooker (fyi turned out ok but would make it different next time-it turned out a little gluey).

I wanted to use up some banana’s and made two banana breads. I am a huge fan of Eat, Shrink and Be Merry cookbooks. I LOVE their recipes. They are so great, and so much healthier. I made their healthier recipe. I make this a lot so I always vary how i make it. This time I made it with regular flour, no nuts or chocolate chips.

I also made my husband his favourite treat-what he calls a macaroon. I know them as a no bake drop cookie, but different continents I suppose. I had most of what i needed so I improvised and made him two batches so he can have a little treat on those long hours of plowing. I know it gets boring going back and forth for 12-16hours a time, and sometimes that thought of having a treat here and there can get you through.

Any  quick treats you guys like to try? What are your go to’s?? Please feel free to share! Stay safe, dry and warm.

Leave a Reply

